Anti-Gay Chick-Fil-A and the BSA

As someone who supports the values of gays being able to marry freely, I find myself at a crossroads where I may be in opposition with many of my gay marriage supporting friends.  I am also a huge supporter of the constitution and I believe that there’s a point where we need to remind ourselves of what’s in it.  Amendment I of the Constitution states, “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

Chick-Fil-A has every constitutional right as a private business to stand behind whatever it is that they wish to believe in.  On the flip side of that, dissenters have every right to disagree with Chick-Fil-A and boycott their restaurants and just as Jim Henson’s legacy has chosen to remove themselves from the Chick-Fil-A political views.  That is the beauty of our country. 

As far as the Boyscouts are concerned though?  This is where I find myself very much frustrated with the entire situation.  If the BSA were a private organization that did not use government/tax payer owned land I would have the same feelings I do about Chick-Fil-A for them.  I believe that as a private organization, the BSA should have every right to say what they will, regardless of whether or not I agree with it or not.  Augusta National has the right as a private organization to deny women the ability to play on their course.  Women’s colleges are generally exclusive and deny men.  The BSA, however, denies gays the opportunities of joining their ranks but also uses public grounds, military bases, etc., for their gatherings.

I just feel as if the entire situation is pretty messed up.  I support gays having the same rights and available privileges as straights do.  Marriage has been around since before Christianity ever took its hold upon the world.  It is a union between people in love who wish to be together in that love.  Who are we, as a nation, to deny consenting adults from joining in that union?  I have known my fair share of people who just happen to be gay.  They’re parents, friends, brothers, sisters.  They are just as worthy of the opportunity to marry as I am.  Chick-Fil-A is also just as worthy to disagree with me in this and those who disagree with them are just as worthy to do so.  Isn’t America beautiful? 

Leave a Reply

