Being Grateful

So lately I’ve been extremely observant of the people around me and I have to say I’m kind of flabbergasted.  I don’t understand how people who have so much can be so ungrateful.  I watch the people around me and I’m disgusted by how much they don’t appreciate the people in their lives.  Why are people always so unsatisfied with their lives?  I even notice myself doing it and it’s kind of frustrating and upsetting.  How are you not satisfied with everything you have? And this isn’t a dig on capitalism by the way.  Any of you who know me know that I’m a staunch fiscal conservative who believes in the free market and climbing up the ladder of success.

I just watch people around me and I feel like they’re acting like really selfish children.   You want it because you can have it and you don’t think about whether or not you ought to have it.  Do you need that sixth car?  Do you need that next ball python more?  It’s amazing to me how many times a day we think about ourselves.  When do we think about other people? Is our society innately greedy?  When do we stop thinking about ourselves?  When do we stop expecting people to do things for us?  When do we stop feeling entitled to everything?  Do we?

And is it a bad thing that we do think about ourselves? Is it wrong to want that sixth car even though you don’t need it and you constantly complain about money?  Is it wrong to want that next ball python even though you really can’t afford it?  Or does wanting not really matter until you actually do it?

I know that some of my liberal friends would say that we have too much and we don’t need everything we have.  That we’re all materialistic, that we should be worried about the hazardous affect we have on the environment.  I would agree to a point.  The question I have for them is, “why not?”  Why not have those extra things?  Why worry about the environmental affects we have when we’ve financially kicked our grand kids to the curb with debt?

Where do we honestly find the happy medium?  I really don’t know.  I try to be grateful for everything in my life.  I have an amazing Man in my life, I have the most beautiful scale kids, and I have a supportive, loving family and friends.  I have a roof over my head, I have food in my belly, I am warm and safe.

If we spend most of our life trying to achieve something fulfilling within ourselves, what is left in us to truly enjoy life?  Do we spend the rest of it restless and unhappy?  Do we ever achieve peace?  Are those of us who are blessed enough to have moments of peace lucky?

Just some food for thought.

Leave a Reply

